Everything you need to know about the 2022 Primetime Emmy Awards

The 74th Primetime Emmy Awards ceremony, which honors the best productions in television and streaming, will take place at Los Angeles’ Microsoft Theater on Monday. The event will air live from coast to coast on NBC and stream on Peacock starting at 5 p.m. Pacific.

Here’s what you need to know going into tonight’s awards show.

Who’s hosting?

“Saturday Night Live” star and six-time Emmy nominee Kenan Thompson was announced as the host only one month before the ceremony.

Thompson assumes control over the frequently difficult gig from last year’s host, Cedric the Performer, who drove the in-person 2021 broadcast with a salute to TV and a recognition for late performer Business Markie. “Jimmy Kimmel Live” star and three-peat Emmys have Jimmy Kimmel facilitated the function in 2020 when the broadcast had to go semi-virtual in light of the Coronavirus pandemic.

“I feel great,” Thompson recently told The Times. “There’s a great team that’s involved. I definitely don’t feel like I’m floating out there by myself. I’m really excited about it. There’s some great pieces coming together.”

The first-time Emmys host —who has emceed the 2021 People’s Choice Awards and the “Jonas Siblings FamilyRoast” TV special — said that his facilitating style for the service is “clear,” meaning he’ll lean on “a decent discourse and keeping the energy up.”

Who and what’s nominated?

Last year’s champions, HBO’s drama “Succession” and Apple TV+’s comedy “Ted Lasso,” finished off the July selections declaration with 25 and 20 assignments each, separately. Fourteen of Waystar-Royco’s power players were among the acting candidates, including “Progression’s” lead entertainers Brian Cox and Jeremy Solid and supporting stars J. Smith Cameron, Sarah Snook, Nicholas Braun, Kieran Culkin and Matthew Macfadyen.

In comedy, “Ted Lasso’s nice-guy hero Jason Sudeikis scored another gesture, alongside supporting entertainers Sarah Niles, Juno Sanctuary, Hannah Waddingham, Brett Goldstein, Toheeb Jimoh and Scratch Mohammed.

HBO Max’s limited series “The White Lotus” scored 20 nominations,thanks to its mighty ensemble cast, including Connie Britton, Jennifer Coolidge, Alexandra Daddario, Natasha Rothwell and Sydney Sweeney. It was followed by Hulu’s “Dopesick” with 14, with a large number of the gestures going to its entertainers — Michael Keaton, Kaitlyn Dever, Female horse Winningham, Will Poulter, Peter Sarsgaard and Michael Stuhlbarg.

Newcomers like Hulu’s “Only Murders in the Building,” Apple TV+’s “Severance, Netflix’s “Squid Game” (the main non-English-language program to procure a significant Emmy selection), ABC’s “Abbott Rudimentary” and Kickoff’s “Yellowjackets” are additionally among the top nominees this year.

Didn’t some awards already go out?

Indeed, many! More than 90 categories comprise the annual Primetime Emmy Awards, so a few awards are given out ahead of time at the Imaginative Expressions Emmys, a two-night service that occurred last end of the week. HBO and HBO Max’s “Elation” and “The White Lotus” arose as the function’s greatest victors, as well as Netflix’s “More unusual Things,” CBS’ “Adele: One Night In particular” and Disney+’s “The Beatles: Get Back.”

An altered show of the Inventive Expressions Emmy Awards aired Saturday on FXX and will be accessible for streaming on Hulu through Sept. 27.

Want some predictions?

The Times’ resident awards expert, Glenn Whipp, separates his picks across the critical categories here. Search for a standoff among “Progression” and “Squid Game” on the show side, with potential prizes for “Squid Game’s” Lee Jung-jae or “Better Refer to Saul as” star Bounce Odenkirk, who closed the “Breaking Terrible” side project’s finale this year. What’s more, Zendaya is supposed to take one more award for her absolute bottom depiction in HBO’s youngster show “Elation.”

On the parody side, expect more wins for “Ted Tether” and potential awards for”Hacks” star Jean Savvy and “Barry’s” Bill Hader.

Who’s attending and presenting?

EGOT winner John Legend will be performing his new single during the service’s In Memoriam section. Emmys executive producer Reginald “Reggie” Hudlin and his individual creatives reported Thursday that five-time Grammy-named maker Zedd will DJ the function, and professional comedian and “SNL” essayist Sam Jay will act as the show’s commentator.

The producers additionally reported past and current candidates among the Hollywood stars set to make that big appearance to introduce the current year’s honors. Here is who’s been uncovered (up until this point):

  • Anthony Anderson
  • Will Arnett
  • Angela Bassett
  • Vanessa Bayer
  • Gael García Bernal
  • RuPaul Charles
  • Kelly Clarkson
  • Ismael Cruz Córdova
  • Rosario Dawson
  • Ariana DeBose
  • Taye Diggs
  • Ayo Edebiri
  • Taron Egerton
  • Hannah Einbinder
  • Selena Gomez
  • Regina Hall
  • Mariska Hargitay
  • Paul Walter Hauser
  • Freddie Highmore
  • Jung Ho-yeon
  • Lee Jung-jae
  • Mindy Kaling
  • Markella Kavenagh
  • Jimmy Kimmel
  • Jake Lacy
  • Juliette Lewis
  • Lizzo
  • Diego Luna
  • Steve Martin
  • Christopher Meloni
  • Seth Meyers
  • Shemar Moore
  • Kumail Nanjiani
  • B.J. Novak
  • Chris O’Donnell
  • Sarah Paulson
  • Amy Poehler
  • Shonda Rhimes
  • Molly Shannon
  • Martin Short
  • Jean Smart
  • Sofía Vergara
  • Kerry Washington
  • Jeremy Allen White
  • Chandra Wilson
  • Bowen Yang
  • Natalie Zea


Leave a Comment